Help > Forum > Paid Access > Requiring users to pay to access a category

Requiring users to pay to access a category

With Paid Access, you can easily charge users a one-time or recurring subscription fee to access selected categories.

Please follow the directions mentioned below to require paid access for specific categories.

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Settings link.
  3. In the Settings menu, select the Paid Access link.
  4. Provide your PayPal Email Address.

    Note: Make sure that it is a Verified PayPal Business Account. This is the PayPal account email address where funds should be sent when a user makes a payment. If you do not have a Verified PayPal account, you will need to create a new PayPal account and connect it to a bank account. Because PayPal verifies that you have connected an active bank account, it may take up to 48 hours to become verified.

  5. Provide the Cost to access the forum.
  6. Provide the Message.

    Note: This message is displayed to the users when they try to view a category that requires the paid access.

  7. Set the Permission option to Specific Categories.
  8. Click the Select Categories link.
  9. Check the check box next to categories you would like to require paid access for.
  10. Click the Save button in the dialog window.
  11. Save the changes on the page.

Now when a user tries to view a category that requires paid access, they will be shown a page with the Paid Access Message you specified in your settings along with a PayPal payment button. Once the user makes the payment, they will automatically have the Paid user group added to their Additional User Groups and will be given access to all paid access areas. If a user cancels their subscription through PayPal or one of their subsription payments fails, they will automatically be removed from the Paid user group and access to paid access areas will be restricted until the payment is successfully processed.

To give additional permissions to paid users only, restrict permissions for the Registered Users user group and give permissions to the Paid user group.

Related Articles:


If you still need help, please contact us.