Help > Forum > Categories > Setting a user group's category permission

Setting a user group's category permission

Managing your category permissions is similar to editing global user group permissions, but allows more control. You can specify custom permissions for each category. If no category permission has been specified, the group will use its global user group permissions.

For example, in the Users -> Group Permissions section, you can specify that the Registered Users user group has permission to view categories. You can then set custom category permissions for the user group on Category A which say that the user group can not view that category. The result will be that anyone in the Registered Users user group can view all categories except Category A.

You can edit a user group's permission for a specific category by following the directions below:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Content link.
  3. In the Content menu, click the Categories link.
  4. Scroll down to the category and click on the Manage link.
  5. In the Manage menu, click the Change Permissions link.
  6. Select the User Group from the drop down for which you want to set the permission.
  7. Toggle the check box next to a permission to give or remove the permission.
  8. Close the Change Permissions dialog window.

You can also edit a user group's global default permissions by following these instructions.


If you still need help, please contact us.