Help > Forum > Users > Offline mode

Offline mode

Offline mode allows your forum members to surf your forum without appearing in the 'Online Users' list displayed on the front page of your forum. Offline mode allows members to gain privacy by ensuring that other members do not know that they are online.

Administrators are able to see users as online even if the users set themselves as offline.

If you would like to prevent users from setting themselves as offline, you can remove the offline option from your forum by following the instructions below:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Users link.
  3. In the Users menu, click the Profile Fields link.
  4. Under the Default Profile Fields section, click Offline.
  5. Uncheck the check box next to Visibility option.

Alternatively, you can prevent certain user groups from using the offline mode by turning off the Set Self as Offline permission in the user group's permissions.


If you still need help, please contact us.