Help > Forum > Users > Invisible mode

Invisible mode

Invisible mode allows your forum members to surf your forum without appearing in the 'Logged in users' list displayed on the front page of your forum. Invisible mode allows members to gain privacy by ensuring that other members do not know that they are online.

Please note that invisible members are not invisible to users with the View Invisible Members permission in the Users -> Group Permissions section (typically Administrators and Moderators). Therefore, if you have the View Invisible Members permission, you will always see yourself in the online users list even if you have set yourself as invisible.

If a user activates or deactivates the invisible mode option in their account preferences, they will need to log out and then log in again to see the change in the online users list. Otherwise the changes will take place the next time the user visits the forum.

If you would like to prevent users from becoming invisible, you can remove the invisible mode option from your forum by following the instructions below:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Users link.
  3. In the Users menu, click the Profile Fields link.
  4. Under the Default Profile Fields section, click Invisible.
  5. Uncheck the check box next to Visibility option.

Alternatively, you can prevent certain user groups from using invisible mode by turning off the Set Self as Invisible permission in the user group's permissions.


If you still need help, please contact us.