Help > Forum > Topics & Posts > Preventing users from uploading file attachments

Preventing users from uploading file attachments

Please follow the steps below to prevent all the users from uploading attachments to posts or private messages:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Settings link.
  3. In the Settings menu, click the General link.
  4. Uncheck the Attachments option.
  5. Save your settings.

You can also set the permissions at user group level. This is useful where you want that a particular set of users should not be able to upload attachments. For example: preventing the Unregistered Users user group from uploading attachments so that the users will need to log in or create an account before uploading attachments.

Preventing a user group from uploading attachments in all categories

Please follow the steps below to prevent a user group from viewing all attachments:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Users link.
  3. In the Users menu, click the Group Permissions link.
  4. Click on the Manage link next to the user group you want to change the permissions for.
  5. In the Manage menu, click Permissions.
  6. Uncheck the Upload Attachments option under the Category Permissions section.
  7. Save your settings.

The above set of instructions allows you to set the Upload Attachment permission that is inherited by all of your catgories by default. However, if the Upload Attachment permission is set for a specific category individually using the instructions shown below, it will override the default. For example, you could allow the Registered Users user group to upload attachments in all the categories except one forum called Premium Category that requires a Paid Access subscription to upload attachments.

Preventing a user group from uploading attachments in a specific category

Please follow the steps below to prevent a user group from uploading the attachments in a specific category:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Content link.
  3. In the Content menu, click the Categories link.
  4. Click on the Manage link, next to the category you want to prevent users from uploading the attachments in.
  5. In the Manage menu, click the Change Permissions link.
  6. Select the User Group from the drop-down menu whom you wish to prevent from posting the attachments.
  7. Uncheck the Upload Attachments option.

Related Support Articles:


If you still need help, please contact us.