Help > Forum > Files > Preventing users from downloading attachments

Preventing users from downloading attachments

You can set attachment permissions at the user group level. For example, you can prevent the Unregistered Users user group from downloading attachments so that users will need to log in or create an account before downloading attachments.


Hiding the attachments in all categories

Please follow the steps below to prevent a user group from viewing all attachments:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Users link.
  3. In the Users menu, click the Group Permissions link.
  4. Click on the Manage link next to the user group you want to change the permissions for.
  5. In the Manage menu, click Permissions.
  6. Uncheck the View Attachments option under the Category Permissions section.
  7. Save your settings.

The instructions above allow you to set the View Attachments permission that is inherited by all of your categories by default. However, if the View Attachments permission is set for a specific category individually using the instructions shown below, it will override the default. For example, you could allow the Registered Users user group to download attachments in all the categories except one category called Premium Category that requires a Paid Access subscription to download attachments.


Hiding the attachments in a specific category

Please follow the steps below to prevent a user group from viewing the attachments of a specific category:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Content link.
  3. In the Content menu, click the Categories link.
  4. Click on the Manage link next to the category you want to hide attachments in.
  5. In the Manage menu, click the Change Permissions link.
  6. Select the User Group from the drop-down menu from whom you wish to hide the attachments.
  7. Uncheck the View Attachments option.

Related Support Articles:


If you still need help, please contact us.