Help > Chat Room > General > Are messages in the chat room persistent?

Are messages in the chat room persistent?

The message archive option in the settings section of your Website Toolbox account allows you to control the chat room history. When this option is enabled, chats between users are stored persistently in the chat room. When users enter the chat room, all previous messages will be available and they can read them by scrolling up in the conversations.

You can disable the message archive option to hide the previously saved chat messages. No new messages are saved in this case but the messages for a chat session are still available to the online users only. Once the chat room is closed or refreshed the messages are permanently deleted.

You can enable the message archive option again to view the previously saved chats.

Please follow the directions mentioned below to enable or disable this option:

  1. Log in to your Website Toolbox account.
  2. Click the Services link toward the top of the page on the right side.
  3. In the Services menu, click Chat Room.
  4. Click the Settings link.
  5. Under General settings check or uncheck the Message Archive option to enable or disable it.
  6. Save your changes.

Deleting your Website Toolbox chat room will permanently delete all the data associated with it, including the chat history.

You can clear the chat history at any time.


If you still need help, please contact us.